Portrait

Blandine Waldmann,
Exploring the inner song

Influenced by the ultra-cosmopolitan city of Brussels, where she learned her craft, Blandine Waldmann is instinctively attuned to dense, powerful repertoires where the piano takes on the guise of an orchestra. This French pianist draws deeply from a rich, complex, harmonic dimension, so she can truly express the inner song, which she does beautifully for Scriabin, whom she has just recorded along with Brahms and Mussorgsky, or Liszt, Beethoven Franck, Debussy or Ravel.

When she was younger, Blandine Waldmann played the violin and piano, but her heart soon fell for the latter: through it, she discovered a world that matched her desire to explore the crisscrossed paths of polyphony and incredible open spaces between the notes. Just like a tremendous symphony – the same forces still drive her today. The violin was to influence her lyrical approach to phrasing, that legato that she worked so hard on under Alexandre Mazdar at the Flemish Royal Conservatory in Brussels – a true platform for exchange with musicians of all nationalities.

AN OUTWARD LOOKING EDUCATION

“He was an important tutor for me, a sort of revealer,” the pianist confides, “As he drove me to research and mature the inner song, by this I mean anticipating a musical phrase, mentally projecting the sounds to come.”
Always on a quest to improve, she tends towards an exacting balance between what she feels and is at her very core, and the precise expression of the emotions written into the heart of the work, while still respecting the text.
This fundamental education outside of France, was completed under Dominique Cornil, as Blandine Waldmann consolidated her technique and structured her work at the Francophone Royal Conservatory in Brussels. At the same time, she perfected her orchestral artistry alongside Daniel Blumenthal and obtained a masters in chamber music.

 

The young pianist has also enriched her training, taking on different points of view at master classes, particularly in Italy, and through musicians she admires: Maria Callas or Menahem Pressler, “who know how to truly give themselves up to the audience, you can almost feel their souls.” Martha Argerich for the fluidity and drive she gives to the phrase, Wilhelm Kempff for the great depth of his interpretations, and Boris Berezovsky for the incredible energy he creates.

LISZT AND SCRIABIN: COMPOSERS THAT STRIKE A CHORD

A chord that resonates with success: Blandine Waldmann has achieved an incredible list of wins at international contests, most recently first prizes at IMKA (2018), the E-muse International Competition in Athens (2017), the Florestano Rossomando Contest (2016) and Erik Satie (2015) …

However, the works she performs truly demonstrate the path she has followed far more than the accolades she has gained.

« I think that certain works call to us, they make sense at a given time in our lives », reveals the pianist.

Although she is moved by Brahms, Liszt and his sonata, the French music she has lived and breathed since childhood, and Bach, whom she always comes back to, Scriabin, with his power and resonance, is where she is at today.

« He brings together so many qualities I’m looking for with the piano: extremely sophisticated harmony with refined colour, the superposition of melodies creating multiple sonorous planes, the diversity of emotional states which are sometimes in opposition; but what touches me more than all of that is the singularity of his imagination. »

A VIRTUOSO, INTIMATE ALBUM

 

After releasing a first contemporary music album, her second one is out this autumn with record label Dux. It brings together the ninth sonata by the Russian composer with three virtuoso, intimate works by Brahms – The Paganini variations II, the opus 117, Capriccio from the opus 116 – and Pictures at an Exhibition by Mussorgsky, in the composer’s original version with “occasional archaic and crude sounds.” Among her projects is also a desire to expand her repertoire of chamber music, notably as part of a quintet, and to record Liszt, and Scriabin once again.

Portrait

Blandine Waldmann,
dans l’exploration du chant intérieur

Marquée par la très cosmopolite Bruxelles où elle fait ses apprentissages, Blandine Waldmann est instinctivement sensible à un répertoire dense et puissant où le piano s’imagine orchestre. Si la pianiste française va puiser en profondeur dans cette dimension harmonique riche et complexe, c’est pour mieux dégager ce chant intérieur qui rejoint volontiers ceux de Scriabine, qu’elle vient d’enregistrer avec Brahms et Moussorgski, de Liszt, Beethoven, Franck, Debussy ou Ravel.

Jeune, Blandine Waldmann pratique le violon et le piano, mais son cœur balance vite pour le second : avec lui, elle découvre un monde à la mesure de sa soif d’exploration des chemins entrecroisés de la polyphonie, des formidables champs ouverts entre les notes. Comme une immense symphonie – un répertoire qui la touche depuis toujours. Le violon influencera son approche lyrique du phrasé, ce legato qu’elle travaille beaucoup auprès d’Alexandre Mazdar au Conservatoire royal néerlandophone de Bruxelles – véritable plateforme d’échanges avec des musiciens de toutes nationalités.

UNE FORMATION OUVERTE SUR LE MONDE

« Il a été un professeur essentiel pour moi, une sorte de révélateur, confie la pianiste, en ce qu’il m’a conduite vers la recherche et la maturation du chant intérieur, c’est-à-dire l’anticipation de la phrase musicale dans la projection mentale du son. »

Toujours en quête, elle tend vers cet équilibre exigeant entre ce qu’elle est et ressent intimement, et l’expression très précise des émotions inscrites aux cœur des œuvres, dans le respect du texte.

Cet apprentissage fondamental, hors de France, vient compléter celui de Dominique Cornil, avec qui Blandine Waldmann consolide sa technique et structure son travail au Conservatoire royal francophone de Bruxelles. Elle perfectionne également son jeu orchestral auprès de Daniel Blumenthal et obtient un master de musique de chambre.

 

La jeune pianiste se nourrit également de différents points de vue en master-classes, en Italie notamment, ainsi que de personnalités musicales qu’elle admire : Maria Callas ou Menahem Pressler, « qui savent rendre leur âme quasi palpable », Martha Argerich, pour la fluidité et la conduite de la phrase, Wilhelm Kempff, pour la grande profondeur de ses interprétations, Boris Berezovsky, pour l’élan incroyable qu’il sait insuffler.

LISZT ET SCRIABINE : DES COMPOSITEURS EN RÉSONANCE

Résultat : Blandine Waldmann affiche une liste impressionnante de victoires en concours international, dont les plus récentes sont ses premiers prix au IMKA (2018), au e-Muse International Competition d’Athènes (2017), aux concours Florestano Rossomandi (2016) et Erik Satie (2015)…

Mais plus que le palmarès, ce sont les œuvres qui montrent son cheminement.

« Je pense que les œuvres nous appellent et prennent sens à un certain moment de notre vie », livre la pianiste.

Si elle est très touchée par Brahms, Liszt et sa Sonate, la musique française, dans laquelle elle baigne depuis son enfance, Bach, vers qui elle revient toujours, c’est Scriabine qui entre puissamment en résonance avec ce qu’elle est aujourd’hui.

« Il rassemble maintes qualités que je recherche au piano : l’harmonie hyper sophistiquée aux couleurs raffinées, la superposition de mélodies créant de multiples plans sonores, la diversité des états émotionnels parfois opposés ; mais ce qui me touche plus que tout est la singularité de son imaginaire. »

UN DISQUE VIRTUOSE ET INTÉRIEUR

 

Après un premier disque tourné vers la musique contemporaine, un second paraît cet automne sous le label Dux, rapprochant la neuvième sonate du compositeur russe de trois œuvres à la fois virtuoses et intérieures de Brahms – les Variations sur un thème de Paganini II, l’opus 117 et le Capriccio de l’opus 116 – et des Tableaux d ’une exposition de Moussorgski, dans la version originale du compositeur « aux sonorités parfois archaïques et crues ». Parmi ses projets figure également l’envie d’approfondir le répertoire de musique de chambre, notamment en quintette, et d’enregistrer Liszt et à nouveau Scriabine.